2022 Helen D. Newcomb Award

Mary Lamo-Putnam Recognized With Junior League’s 2022 Helen D. Newcomb Award

Award to be presented at Annual Meeting, Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Long Beach, Calif., (May 1, 2022) – Junior League of Long Beach Sustainer, Mary Lamo-Putnam has been selected by a committee of her peers to receive the JLLB’s highest honor:  The Helen D. Newcomb Award.

Since 1996, the prestigious award has been presented in the name of Helen Dutton Newcomb who, in 1931, served as the first President of the JLLB, originally known as the Junior Charity League.  The award recognizes a member who embodies the organization’s mission to promote voluntarism, develop the potential of women and improve the community through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers.

“It was evident from the comments made by those who nominated her for this award, that Mary possesses the attributes to accomplish the League’s mission,” Helen D. Newcomb Award Committee Chair Penny Brocksen said.  “She is clearly worthy of this recognition from her fellow members in the Junior League of Long Beach.”

Lamo-Putnam began volunteering with the JLLB in 2000 and has served as VP of Marketing and Communications, ‘Bin Queen’ for the League’s famous Rummage Sale, Sustainer Treasurer and Chair and developed a half day annual Leadership Forum to help members build relationships while learning something innovative.  She has been honored with the JLLB Dedication Award and named JLLB Sustainer of the Year for 2014-15.  Her most recent success was leading the effort to produce the JLLB Cookbook-celebrating 90 years of life, community and cooking.  Selling almost 400 copies in two printings, the book features sixty pages of JLLB history and projects and over 100 recipes submitted by League members.

​​”It has been my pleasure to serve with Mary in the Junior League of Long Beach and work with her this year on the final printing of The JLLB Cookbook commemorating the League’s 90th Anniversary,” Junior League of Long Beach President Jaylene Eatherly Westfall said. “She is a remarkable woman and I value her leadership and support. She is certainly deserving of this honor.”

Along with her League achievements, Mary is Director Emeritus for the Long Beach Library Foundation and has held various roles, including Chair of the Annual Fundraiser and VP of Programs.  She also chaired the Library of the Future Committee to research the ways technology can ensure relevancy in libraries.  She is past chair of the AAUW STEM Career conference hosting 250 7th and 8th grade girls in predominately Title 1 schools in Work Smart Workshops, co-hosted by the JLLB.  She received the 2020 AAUW Connie Inskeep Leadership Award and the 2020 WSSC Purple Diamond VIP Award and in 2019 received the Ashleigh Williams-Pearce Spirit Award from the City of Signal Hill for her various volunteer efforts on behalf of the city.  Mary served as President of her University Park Estates Neighborhood Association for 6 years, bringing together her community with seasonal events, newsletters and welcoming gifts.

Mary was born in Hartford, Connecticut and moved to Long Beach in 1967, attending local schools and graduating from CSULB.  She began a 30+ year career in Information Technology in 1982, enjoying a career that was both “exciting and ever-changing”.

Her philosophy is “live a life with purpose, be grateful, accept love, grow from challenges and respect others.  Also, a good road trip is the best cure for just about anything!”.

Respectfully submitted for your consideration by the Helen D. Newcomb Award Committee 2021-2022:  Chair Penny Brocksen, Mary Hinds, Ashley Hopkins, Leslie Martinez and Christina Winting.